Our Blog

5 pillars of islam

These are the basis of Muslim life and Muslims are required to follow them with utmost sincerity. Just like a building lacks determination without strong pillars, a believer’s connection with Allah lacks focus without observance of the 5 pillars of Islam. These pillars form the foundation and origin point for all other good deeds and acts of prayer to Allah.

5 pillars of Islam

  1. Faith (Iman)         
  2. Prayer (Salah)
  3. Charity (Zakat)
  4. Fasting
  5. Pilgrimage (Hajj)


From the 5 pillars of Islam, Faith is the first pillar “. There is none deserving of prayer except God (Allah) and Hazrat Muhammad (PBUH) is the messenger of Allah.” This document of faith is called the Shahadah, a simple method that all the faithful declare. The importance of this declaration is the view that the only goal of life is to serve and obey Allah, and this is done through the instructions and practices of the Last Prophet, Hazrat Muhammad (PBUH).

Prayer (Salah)

Prayer is the name for the essential prayers that are offered five times a day, and are a direct link between the worshipper and Allah. From the 5 pillars of Islam, Faith is the first pillar. There is no hierarchical right in Islam and there are no priests. Prayers are led by a learned person who knows the Quran and is usually chosen by the gathering.
Prayers are said at dawn, mid-day, late afternoon, sunset and nightfall, and thus learn the swing of the entire day. These five designated Salat contain verses of Quran and are stated in Arabic, the language of the Revelation. Particular supplications, however, can be offered in one’s own language and at any time.
Although it is better to pray together in a mosque, a Muslim may pray almost everywhere, such as in fields, offices, shops, and colleges. Oftentimes visitors to Muslim society are hit by the centrality of prayers in daily life.

Charity (Zakat)

An important law of Islam is that everything relates to Allah, and that wealth is therefore held by human individuals in trust. The word zakat means both “cleaning” and “growth.” Our possessions are purified by arranging aside a proportion for those in need and for the community in common. Like the pruning of plants, this cutting back stability and encourages new growth.
Each Muslim calculates his or her own necessary charity individually. This includes the yearly payment of 2.5% of one’s wealth, excluding such items as original residence, car and professional tools.
A person may also give as much as he or she wishes as the voluntary donation, and does so preferably in secret. Such charity is not limited to commercial giving.
The Prophet (SAW) said, “Also meeting your buddy with a happy face is an act of charity.” The Prophet also said: “zakat is a necessity for every Muslim.” He was asked: “What if a person has nothing?” The Prophet replied: “He should work with his own hands for his good and then deliver something out of such profits in Zakat.” The Companions of the Prophet asked: “What if he is not capable to work?” The Prophet said: “He should help the poor and needy.” The Companions more asked: “What if he cannot do even that?” The Prophet said: “He should invite others to do good.” The Companions said: “What if he needs that also?” The Prophet said: “He should hold himself from making evil. That is also an act of donation.”

admin5 pillars of islam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *